Teacher Recognition

Kati Fischer Teacher of the Year Awards

December 2019

Wasatch Education Foundation, in conjunction with Wasatch County School District and the Rocky Fischer Family, awarded eight Kati Fischer Teacher of the Year Awards, one at each school in the District prior to the 2019 Christmas Break.

Award winners were chosen by peers and parents at their school, and – in some instances – students were given the opportunity to weigh-in on which teachers deserved the accolade. The award, named in honor of current Timpanogos Middle School student, Kati Fischer, includes a $1,000 cash prize. 

The individual recipients were as follows:

  • Daniels Canyon Elementary School: Andrea Hicken
  • J.R. Smith Elementary School: Sonya Provost
  • Heber Valley Elementary School: Jennifer Crystal
  • Midway Elementary School: Jami Huntsman
  • Old Mill Elementary School: Keith Lowther
  • Rocky Mountain Middle School: Marc Sullivan
  • Timpanogos Middle School: Derik Bringhurst
  • Wasatch High School: Brenda Mena

To learn more about the Kati Fischer Teacher of the Year Award, please contact Kirsta Albert, or 435-640-1638,

About Wasatch County School District

Wasatch County School District commits to preparing every student for career and college readiness by building confident, accomplished and literate graduates. WCSD serves more than 7,000 students at eight schools – Daniels Canyon Elementary, Heber Valley Elementary, J.R. Smith Elementary, Midway Elementary, Old Mill Elementary, Rocky Mountain Middle School, Timpanogos Middle School, and Wasatch High School. For more information, please click here.